About The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)-2014

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is an all India entrance examination conducted on rotation by 14 National Law Universities (NLUs) for admissions to their under-graduate and post-graduate degree programmes (LL.B & LL.M.). The 14 participating NLUs in the order of their establishment are:

  • 1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)
  • 2. National Academy of Legal Study & Research (NALSAR) University of Law, Hyderabad
  • 3. National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)
  • 4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)
  • 5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)
  • 6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)
  • 7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)
  • 8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)
  • 9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala (RGNUL)
  • 10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)
  • 11. National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)
  • 12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)
  • 13. National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)
  • 14. National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, Guwahati (NLUJAA)

The first CLAT Core Committee consisting of Vice-Chancellors of the seven participating NLUs at that time decided that the test shall be conducted by rotation in the order of their establishment. Accordingly, the first Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) was conducted in the year 2008. Now there are 14 participating NLUs and following the practice the seventh Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) will be conducted by the Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar in 2014.